Buyer profile · Priced after scoping
Ooak Data
Ooak Data, a Y Combinator-backed AI research lab, pays companies (including closed ones) to license their anonymized work-tool data for AI training.
Good fit if: You are a small or mid-sized company, operating or already closed, with a few years of history across common work tools.
The facts
Every row is from Ooak Data's own pages, checked 2026-10-25. "Not stated" means we did not find it published.
| Type | Priced after scoping: no figure until your records are reviewed |
|---|---|
| What it takes | Documents and files (reports, contracts, presentations); Project management data (Jira, Notion, Trello); CRM and sales data; Financial records; Product analytics; Internal wikis; Code repositories; Workplace chat and drive files (Slack, Google Drive); Email; Tickets and support records; Spreadsheets |
| Who qualifies | Estimator accepts 1-10 up to 200+ people at peak and 2+, 4+ or 7+ years of history; no stated minimum. FAQ says deals have been signed by directors, liquidators or administrators. Jurisdiction is checked during scoping. Payment goes to the company, not individuals. |
| Company status accepted | operating, closing, closed |
| How it pays | unknown: the page does not say whether payment is upfront or revenue share; payment follows the signed agreement. |
| Published range | Ooak's own figures: headline 'up to $1M'; FAQ says its smallest closed deal was $20K and larger ones reached several hundred thousand dollars. Not an offer. (buyer's label: ceiling) |
| When it pays | Page says it pays fast but gives no date; whole process described as 2 to 4 weeks. |
| Fees to you | Not stated. |
| Exclusivity | not stated |
| Data handling | Ooak's in-house engine removes personal information, replacing names, companies and addresses consistently; faces, logos and signatures blacked out. Only Ooak sees the raw archive; buyers get a code-named anonymized set. Raw archive deleted within 30 days of delivery with written confirmation (a contract term). Seller reviews a sample first. License is training-only, with seller exclusions annexed to the contract. |
How its process works
- 15-minute intro call to map workflows and get a preliminary estimate
- Choose which systems and date ranges are in scope
- Ooak measures volume and coverage (under an hour of your time)
- Ooak anonymizes the data
- Sign the agreement and get paid
What to check before you sign
- Upfront vs revenue-share structure not published
- Exclusivity terms not published
- Headline 'up to $1M' is well above the FAQ statement that closed deals so far reached several hundred thousand dollars
- Employee and customer data in chat and email may be restricted by privacy law or contracts; check with your lawyer
Questions to ask Ooak Data
- Who signs the agreement with us, and in which state is that company registered?
- When exactly are we paid, and what has to happen first?
- Is the license exclusive? For how long, and in which uses?
- Who de-identifies the records, where, and can we review the result?
- What happens to the copy when the license ends?
More on this in questions to ask a buyer and comparing offers.
What we could not confirm
- 'Up to $1M' headline (raised from 'up to $300K' as of 2026-10-18) is above the FAQ statement that deals to date reached 'several hundred thousand dollars'; the $1M appears to be a ceiling, not a closed-deal result
- FAQ is on the partner page itself; no separate FAQ URL
- No payment date or timing commitment beyond 'fast' and 2-4 week process
Sources
- Ooak Data - Partner, accessed 2026-10-18
- Ooak Data - Terms of Service, accessed 2026-10-18
Ooak Data is named only to identify it. It has not reviewed or endorsed this page. Corrections: paul@minimusbrands.biz.