Buyer profile · One-time payment
Mode We may be paid Featured
Mode buys an agreed, de-identified copy of a company's internal operating records for AI research and training, with no broker in between.
Good fit if: You run a business or nonprofit in the U.S., Canada, UK or Australia with 50+ employees (15+ for accounting, finance or medical firms, 10+ for law firms) and several years of records in common workplace tools.
The facts
Every row is from Mode's own pages, checked 2026-10-25. "Not stated" means we did not find it published.
| Type | Pays a one-time amount for your records |
|---|---|
| What it takes | Email and calendars; Documents and files; Team chat; Call recordings and transcripts; CRM and sales records; Billing and operations records (invoices, payments, work systems) |
| Who qualifies | 50+ employees. U.S., Canada, UK and Australia only (Mode's ai.mode.inc page and referral page); teams mainly based in the U.S. are the strongest fit. The data.mode.inc calculator still also lists EU and Other.. Minimums as of October 2026: 50+ employees for most businesses and nonprofits, 15+ for accounting, finance and medical firms, 10+ for law firms (Mode's ai.mode.inc page and referral page). Mode's data.mode.inc FAQ still showed 30+, 10+ and 6+ when last checked. Looks for several years of records the company owns. The pages do not say whether closing or closed companies qualify; 'operating' is assumed from the wording, not stated. |
| Company status accepted | operating (closing or closed companies not mentioned) |
| How it pays | upfront: Mode buys the agreed copy directly; the written agreement sets the amount and payment schedule before export. |
| Published range | Mode's own headline figure is $100K to $5M; its calculator is labeled indicative and illustrative, not a guaranteed offer. Not an offer. Source: data.mode.inc, as of October 2026. (buyer's label: indicative) |
| When it pays | Mode says it generally expects about three months from first conversation to payment, depending on scope, rights review, contracting and export. |
| Fees to you | Mode states it charges no broker fee. No other fees are listed. |
| Exclusivity | varies (set in the written agreement) |
| Data handling | The company's team signs in to approved systems (no passwords handed over) and Mode exports the agreed systems and date ranges into a secure workspace. Mode removes sensitive material and removes or transforms personal identifiers before onward delivery. AI developers do not get unfiltered records. Originals stay with the company. |
How its process works
- Tell Mode about the business: size, history and systems
- Review the offer and approve the scope, value, terms, systems and date ranges
- Team signs in to approved systems; Mode exports and de-identifies the copy
- Mode pays under the agreed terms
What to check before you sign
- Exclusivity is left to the agreement; read that clause
- Referral reward amounts are 'proposed'; referral-page staff minimums differ from the program page
- No statement on whether closing or closed companies are eligible
- Calculator output is illustrative only
- Medical practices are listed; clinical records belong on licensemydata.com
- Confirm customer contracts, NDAs and employee privacy laws (e.g., CCPA) allow licensing; talk to your lawyer
Questions to ask Mode
- Who signs the agreement with us, and in which state is that company registered?
- When exactly are we paid, and what has to happen first?
- Is the license exclusive? For how long, and in which uses?
- Who de-identifies the records, where, and can we review the result?
- What happens to the copy when the license ends?
More on this in questions to ask a buyer and comparing offers.
What we could not confirm
- Referral page shows both '$50,000+' (headline) and '$5,000+' (second-level introductions); neither is a fixed amount, so payout_max_usd is left null
- Operator's full legal entity name not stated
- Company status eligibility (closing/closed) not addressed
- Mode's data.mode.inc page still showed lower minimums (30+ / 10+ / 6+) and calculator regions EU and Other on October 25, 2026; we follow ai.mode.inc and the referral page (50+ / 15+ / 10+; U.S., Canada, UK, Australia only).
Sources
- Mode Data - Company data partnerships, accessed 2026-10-25
- Mode Data - Referrals, accessed 2026-10-25
- Mode Data - About, accessed 2026-10-25
- Mode - Company data (ai.mode.inc), accessed 2026-10-25
Mode is named only to identify it. It has not reviewed or endorsed this page. Corrections: paul@minimusbrands.biz.