Handshake AI vs micro1
Both pay companies for internal business records used to train AI. The main differences on their published terms are below; the real answer comes from putting both offers side by side.
Key differences
- They pay differently: Handshake AI: priced after scoping: no figure until your records are reviewed; micro1: pays a one-time amount for your records.
- Size rules differ: Handshake AI — 20+ employees, 3+ years; micro1 — 30+ employees.
- Published ranges: Handshake AI $100K–$4M, micro1 $100K–$2M (each buyer's own figure, not an offer).
- Company status: Handshake AI accepts operating; micro1 accepts operating, closing, closed.
Side by side
| Handshake AI | micro1 | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Priced after scoping: no figure until your records are reviewed | Pays a one-time amount for your records |
| Who qualifies | 20+ employees, 3+ years | 30+ employees |
| Accepts | operating | operating, closing, closed |
| How it pays | unknown: Handshake describes licensing the data; it does not state lump sum versus ongoing payments on the page. | upfront: micro1 says it pays in full once the delivered data is accepted; separately, it quotes licensing of agent trajectories as an annual figure. |
| Published range | Handshake's own headline figure: companies can earn $100K to $4M+ depending on the data shared. The current page does not call this an estimate or say how it is set; it is not an offer. Source: joinhandshake.com, as of October 2026. | micro1's own figures: headline $200K-$2M+, with payments typically $150K to over $2M. Tiers: $100K-$500K for qualified partnerships, $500K-$2M for large-scale or multi-team datasets, $2M+ for highly unique data; agent trajectories quoted at $1M-$2M a year. Its referral page lists company compensation of $100K-$2M+ for both operating and closed companies. Not an offer. Source: micro1.ai, as of October 2026. |
| When it pays | Not published | micro1 says it pays in full within 30 days of accepting the data. Its FAQ describes a 30-day review window after transfer, then an invoice, then payment within 30 days of the invoice. |
| Exclusivity | not stated | not stated |
| Data handling | The company decides which records are included and which sensitive information is left out. Handshake explains who will access and prepare the data, including any de-identification needed, and the company reviews who may receive it, how it may be used and the safeguards before committing. The referral page says all data is scoped, de-identified and kept confidential. | The parties agree scope, security, anonymization and redaction rules up front. PII is removed where relevant, data runs in isolated pipelines with limited access, some data may be synthetically rewritten, the company can review samples, and data is deleted on request or at the end of the engagement per agreed terms. micro1 says the data is licensed only to labs and enterprises in the U.S. and allied countries, and the company keeps ownership of its data. |
| Good fit if | You have 20+ full-time staff, at least three years of operating history, and want the buyer to prepare the data; Handshake says all data is scoped and de-identified. | You have 30+ staff, mainly English-language documentation, and well-kept procedures, CRM and project records. Closed companies with 30+ employees and substantial Slack or Teams history can apply through its program for closed companies. |
You can apply to both at once. Nothing you submit commits you, and two offers make it easier to judge either one. See comparing offers.
Apply to Handshake AI Apply to micro1
Handshake AI: We may be paid: this buyer pays us a referral fee if a company we sent signs. You pay us nothing. Among buyers that fit your answers, buyers that pay us are shown first.
micro1: We may be paid: this buyer pays us a referral fee if a company we sent signs. You pay us nothing. Among buyers that fit your answers, buyers that pay us are shown first.
Sources
- Handshake AI - Data partnerships, accessed 2026-10-25
- Handshake AI - Refer a company, accessed 2026-10-25
- micro1 - Data partnerships, accessed 2026-10-25
- micro1 - Company referral (lists Enterprise and Defunct Company Data Partnerships), accessed 2026-10-25
- micro1 - Sub-affiliate program, accessed 2026-10-25
- micro1 - Data payout estimator, accessed 2026-10-25
- micro1 referral portal: company data programs (operating and closed companies), accessed 2026-10-23