Buyer profile · Per repository
pre.dev
A program that values private Git repositories and licenses chosen ones, non-exclusively, to AI labs training coding models.
Good fit if: You own private code you can legally license and want to keep using it while licensing copies to AI labs.
The facts
Every row is from pre.dev's own pages, checked 2026-10-25. "Not stated" means we did not find it published.
| Type | Pays per repository (software code) |
|---|---|
| What it takes | private code repositories; Git commit history |
| Who qualifies | Individuals, agencies and companies can sign up; you connect a Git account and choose which repos to license. |
| Company status accepted | operating, closing, closed |
| How it pays | per-sale, pre.dev shows per-repo payouts and per-token rates; it says one repo can pay more than once under the same agreement. |
| Published range | Page headline shows $6,000 for a repo; example repo values shown range from $740 to $4,180 and are labeled as examples. Rates shown: $100 per million tokens of source, $40 per million tokens of Git history. (buyer's label: illustrative) |
| When it pays | Net 15 after funds land |
| Fees to you | Not stated |
| Exclusivity | non-exclusive by default; you keep the code |
| Data handling | Not described for code licensing. |
How its process works
- Choose an individual or company account
- Connect a Git account
- Pick the repos you are willing to license
- Receive a value and grade per repo
- Sign one agreement; later deals pay under it
What to check before you sign
- Meaning of the $6,000 headline (cap, typical or example) is not explained
- No fee or revenue split published
- No secrets or personal data scrubbing described
- Client code owned by customers may not be yours to license
Questions to ask pre.dev
- Who signs the agreement with us, and in which state is that company registered?
- When exactly are we paid, and what has to happen first?
- Is the license exclusive? For how long, and in which uses?
- Who de-identifies the records, where, and can we review the result?
- What happens to the copy when the license ends?
More on this in questions to ask a buyer and comparing offers.
What we could not confirm
- How the per-token rates and per-repo figures relate is not explained
- Whether $6,000 is a maximum, average or example is unclear
- FAQ does not cover code licensing
- Terms of service not reviewed for licensing specifics
Sources
- pre.dev home page, code licensing section, accessed 2026-10-15
- pre.dev code licensing sign-up, accessed 2026-10-15
pre.dev is named only to identify it. It has not reviewed or endorsed this page. Corrections: paul@minimusbrands.biz.